Planning Permission

What is planning permission?

In the UK, extensions or changes to a property will first normally require consent from the local Council Planning Service. Permission is needed to assess the impact that your particular building development will have on the surrounding environment, on other people who live and work in the area, and also considers its use and appearance.

Householder Development

Most external property developments (including extensions and terraces) will require Householder Development planning permission.

This kind of permission ensures that developments are in harmony with the building's original features, including use of the correct proportions, materials and character.

Not all alterations will require approval however, so it's worth checking the National Planning Portal for a comprehensive, detailed planning guideline.

Lawful Development Certificate

You can also apply for a Lawful Development Certificate (LDC) to ensure that the existing use of a building is lawful for planning purposes. An LDC, while not compulsory, is advised in instances when you need to confirm that use, operation or activity is lawful.

Even if development is permitted, an LDC should be considered to settle any future ambiguity and answer any queries.

How can we help?

Here at Building Drawing Architectural Services we specialise in effective and efficient services for planning permission in Kent. We know how costly and time consuming building projects can be, and we look to ensure that the planning permission process is made as simple as possible.

We're able to provide full, detailed drawings and plans as may be required in order for a successful planning permission application to be granted, and we work closely with our clients, coordinating each aspect of the planning to ensure that all correct documentation is completed and submitted.

Get in touch for planning permission advice and guidance or for further information about any of our services.

The councils we cover are:

  • Ashford
  • Bexley
  • Bromley
  • Canterbury
  • Dartford
  • Dover
  • Gravesham
  • Maidstone
  • Medway
  • Sevenoaks
  • Shepway
  • Swale
  • Thanet
  • Tonbridge & Malling
  • Tunbridge Wells